Band-e-Amir Wins the Inaugural Alokozay Ahmad Shah Abdali First Class Tournament

The Alokozay Ahmad Shah Abdali First Class Tournament concluded as Band-e-Amir emerged the champions after beating Speenghar by 537 runs in the Final which was played at Ghazi Amanullah Khan Cricket Stadium in Nangarhar from 19th- 23rd December 2017.

Band-e-Amir won the toss and decided to bowl first. They declared their first innings scoring a big total of 747 for the loss of 9 wickets. Speenghar were all out for 196 runs in their first innings and conceding a huge lead of 551 runs. Subsequently, Band-e-Amir declared their second innings with 265 runs on board at the loss of 4 wickets thereby setting a mounting target of 817 runs for their opponents. Speenghar could only manage 278 runs losing all of their wickets in the process. As a result of which, they lost the match by a massive margin of 537 runs.

Band-e-Amir’s Younis Ahmadzai was declared the Man of the Match for scoring an unbeaten knock of 210 in the first innings. Karim Sadiq of Bost was the player of the tournament for his all-round performance scoring 871 runs and taking 19 wickets for Bost. Band-e-Amir’s left-arm spin bowler Waqar Salamkheil was conferred with the Best Bowler of the Tournament award whilst Baheer Mahboob of Speenghar received both the Best Batsman as well as the Emerging Player of the Tournament awards.

The Alokozay Ahmad Shah Abdali First Class Tournament commenced on 19th of October 2017 with the participation of five regional teams comprising of Mis-e-Ainak, Bost, Band-e-Amir, Speenghar and Amo .