Afghanistan squads announced for Bangladesh Test and Triangular Series in September

Afghanistan Cricket Board selection committee today announced a 15-member squad for the only test against Bangladesh as well as a 17-member squad for the T20I triangular series that will also feature Zimbabwe.

Chief selector Andy Moles, who was accompanied by member of selection committee Mujahid Zadran, announced both squads in a press conference held at ACB Headquarters in Kabul.

The 15-member squad for the only test against Bangladesh is as follows:

Rashid Khan (C), Ihsanullah Janat, Javid Ahmadi, Ibrahim Zadran, Rahmat Shah, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Asghar Afghan, Ikram Alikhil, Mohammad Nabi, Qais Ahmad, Sayed Ahmad Shirzad, Yamin Ahmadzai, Zahir Khan Pakteen, Afsar Zazai and Shapoor Zadran.

The squad for the Afghanistan-Bangladesh- Zimbabwe T20I Triangular Series is as follows:

Rashid Khan (C), Asghar Afghan, Mohammad Nabi, Hazratullah Zazai, Najeeb Tarakai, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Shafiqullah Shafaq, Najib Zadran, Shahidullah Kamal, Karim Janat, Gulbadin Naib, Fareed Ahmad Malik, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Fazal Niazai, Dawlat Zadran and Naveen ul Haq.

Addressing the press, Mr. Moles said, “We have selected a 17-member squad for the T20I matches as per the advice of the Captain as we have two important tournaments; T20I Asia Cup and ICC T20 World Cup 2020 ahead of us. We will seek to prepare good sides for these tournaments and those players who perform well, will be considered for selection.”

Moles added that the reason to select more players in the T20I squad is to determine appropriate position of those players in the playing order while also preparing a good side for the upcoming tournaments. He emphasized that all players are selected based on their skills and abilities and that more youngsters will be considered for selection in the future as well.

Responding to a question from reporters, Mr. Moles said, “We will also consider the performance of players in the upcoming Shpageeza Cricket League and Afghanistan Premier League T20 for future selection. “

It is worth mentioning that Ibrahim Zadran, Qais Ahmad, Sayed Ahmad Shirzad, Zahir Khan Pakteen and Shapoor Zadran have not made their Test debuts yet while Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Shahidullah Kamal, Fazal Niazi and Naveen ul Haq are yet to play a T20 International.

The Test squad will leave to Abu Dhabi tomorrow where they are scheduled to participate in a training camp from 22nd to 29th of this month before travelling to Bangladesh on 30th to play the only test against the host nation from 5th to 9th September.

In the triangular series, the National team is scheduled to play its first match on 14th September against Zimbabwe, second against Bangladesh on 15th, Third against Zimbabwe on 20th and fourth against Bangladesh on 21st September while the Final is scheduled to be played on 24th September.