Afghanistan-A team travel to Bangladesh

Afghanistan-A team traveled to Bangladesh today morning to participate in two four-day and five One-day matches against Bangladesh A.

The selected players went through an extensive selection process conducted by Afghanistan Cricket Board for the tour. first, players had to go through YoYo fitness test in Nangarhar where the qualified players were chosen to play matches against Afghanistan Emerging Team.

After facing Afghanistan Emerging Team in Nangarhar, a 16-member squad was finalized from the pool. The selected players that constituted Afghanistan-A team, later played three matches against Afghanistan U19 team in Kabul managing to win only one.

As per the ACB Selection Committee officials, some of the players were not able to pass the YoYo test in order to be eligible for the A team, therefore, they were replaced by players from the Emerging Team who met the set criteria.

The Afghanistan-A squad for the four-day matches against Bangladesh A is as follows:

Usman Ghani, Ibrahim Zadran, Baheer Mahbob, Nasir Jamal, Afsar Zazai, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Qais Ahmad, Yamin Ahmadzai, Darwish Rasooli, Naveen ul Haq, Zia ur Rahman Akbar, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Waqarullah Ishaqzai, Fazal Niazi, Sayed Ahmad Shirzad and Shahidullah Kamal. Pacer Zia Sharifi will be considered in absence of Sayed Ahmad Shirzad.

The One-day squad is as follows:

Usman Ghani, Ibrahim Zadran, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Darwish Rasooli, Shahidullah Kamal, Fazal Niazi, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Qais Ahmad, Naveen ul Haq, Sayed Ahmad Shirzad, Fareed Malik, Zia ur Rahman Akbar, Munir Ahmad, Karim Janat, Mirwais Ashraf and Nasir Jamal.

The tour of Bangladesh is scheduled to be held between 5th and 29th July.